Addicts in relationships together

For the first time in a long long time, I am in a serious relationship with someone who is not an addict, not even an alcoholic. For me this is huge.  I hate to be Debbie downer but from my experience, I have yet to see two addicts be in a healthy functioning relationship. It may be okay and work without relapse for a little while, but eventually, there is relapse. Every single couple I have been around that are addicts and most of the time that’s how they met…Never get clean. And then there are the relationships, I have witnessed that they didn’t start using together, but both were addicts and eventually at some point in the relationship they started to use together.  I personally think that two addicts in a relationship together is extremely toxic and if you want to get clean. Stay away from this type of thing.

-loulou

Leave a Reply

